IBT Information

IBT is a Training programme consisting of Four Modules designed to train the Beginner/Novice Motorcyclist. The Instructor will ensure that the trainee student acquires the skills /knowledge to be deemed a competent and safe rider.

The Four Modules set by the RSA must be completed in sequence. Each Module completed will be signed off by the Instructor and a final certificate issued on completion of all four modules, thus allowing the rider to take to the roads for further training and progress to obtaining his/her full licence.

As of the 6th of December all learner Motorcyclist in all three categories A, A1 & M, B + Code 73 Tricycle must undertake Initial Basic Training before they can ride there Motorcycles on public roads.

Initial Basic Training (IBT) is a mandatory training course that teaches basic riding skills to learner motorcyclists. It is part of the RSA’s Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) scheme and is intended to improve road safety.

From 6 December 2010, IBT is a legal requirement. You may not ride a motorcycle on the road unless:

  • you obtained a Learner Permit before 6 December 2010 or
  • you are undergoing Module 4 training and are accompanied by your IBT Motorcycle instructor or
  • you have done your IBT and received a Certificate of Satisfactory Completion
  • you have passed your practical driving test.

IBT is a 16 hour course broken into four separate modules to be completed in sequence. These modules are a mixture of theory and practical riding skills.

When you have completed your IBT course, your instructor will record the details of your training in your logbook and issue you with a Certificate of Satisfactory Completion.

You can now apply for your practical driving test.

If you want to upgrade the bike you ride (from automatic to manual or tricycle to two-wheeler) you can complete a conversion module. This module allows you to get the training you need to operate a different type of bike without having to repeat the whole IBT course.

IBT courses are only available at RSA approved IBT training centres and may only be delivered by RSA approved IBT instructors. Before you begin your training, you should check that both centre and instructor have been issued with an RSA certificate of approval.

Completing your initial basic training course means you will:

  • learn to become a safer road user.
  • develop a strong understanding of basic motorcycle riding skills.
  • be able to practice your riding unaccompanied on a public road.

The Conversion module is a repeat of Modules 2 and 4. If you are upgrading your vehicle, i.e. to a more powerful engine or from an automatic to a manual, you can complete this module to get the necessary training without having to go through the whole IBT programme again. You will need to give details of your previous IBT to your instructor before completing the Conversion module.

This module covers:

1. Moving off and stopping
2. Use of brakes
3. Use of gears
4. Slow riding
5. Figure of eight
6. U-turn
7. Slalom
8. Rear observation and mirrors
9. Turning left and right
10. Emergency adjustment of speed
11. Gradients
12. Junctions
13. Traffic lights
14. Roundabouts
15. Safe distance
16. Anticipation and reaction
17. Pedestrian crossings
18. Bends

You must successfully complete each module before moving onto the next and completing the course. If you have difficulties with a particular module, you can repeat it until you reach the necessary standard.
Assessment by the RSA

If you are unhappy with the progress you are making in the IBT programme you can apply to the RSA to have a member of staff carry out your assessment. The fee for this is currently €70.

However, if is deemed that you have not reached the necessary standards, they may refuse to stamp your logbook or issue you with a Certificate of Satisfactory Completion.